I’m Back! Second year complete!…

Straight after my last exam I was sat in the park enjoying some drinks and strawberries in the sun with friends. It feels so weird to think just a few days ago I couldn’t wait to finish exams and now I’m finally free. I don’t think its fully sunk in that I don’t have to revise anymore.  I can do whatever I want.

Roughly this time last year, I sat down and thought to myself so what do I want to do with my free time. I’m not the type to sit around all day, I love to be doing something useful. Blogging was one thing I have wanted to do for quite some time but I never had the confidence to actually go and set one up. Well here I am now!

Now that second year is complete I thought that this would be a good way of reflecting on the year and to also tell you a little bit about my summer plans.

To be completely honest, second year was nothing like I anticipated it to be. Living in a house was challenging at times, marking got so much more stricter and I distanced from some people and became closer to others. It’s funny how I am still meeting people and making lots of new friends. Whether it is through seminars, societies or through other friends. That’s the great thing with uni, there are so many people from a diverse range of backgrounds. I’ve always been quite open minded in that sense and happy to meet new people.

There were some really good points in the year, one was that I started writing for the university magazine in food and drink. This was such a great experience and I can’t wait to continue writing more in my final year.  I also somehow scored 100% in one of my exams! I have never had 100%!  There were also some difficult points. I guess there is a lot of pressure with uni and all of the cliches such as it being ‘the best time of your life’ and where you ‘make friends for life’. It’s not like that for everyone and I am still making friends but equally I am lucky to surrounded by some great ones.

The people that went out nearly everyday suddenly started to go out less and worked harder because ‘second year counts’. Personally, I never really followed this mentality. First year was fun but I also wanted to do well to give myself the best start in second year.

As I will be going into final year in September I saw the importance of gaining work experience over the summer. I will be working flexibly in two marketing roles and I cannot wait. Of course I will also be catching up with my friends and will blog when I can. I hope to write a post about autism sometime over the summer too.

I’ll be back with another post soon, I hope you enjoyed this one,

 

Mon X

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

