When dad says he wants ‘nothing’ for Fathers day…

When it comes to Fathers’ day dads can be well… awkward by asking for ‘nothing’. My friends’ agree that their dads do this too.  You want to give them something but the question is what?

You’ve got them all the socks, shirts and beer they could ask for in the entire world but then what? You start to run out of ideas and they get fed up with receiving things they don’t really want.

So this year I decided to do something that would have a bit more meaning, I baked my dad a walnut banana loaf and made a Spanish omelette for dinner. Not only are these both simple dishes but this was also a great way to spend time with my family, enjoying good food.

You can find the recipe for banana loaf in my post “Why I’m bananas for banana loaf”. It’s really easy, just simply follow the recipe but just add in chopped walnuts once you have made your mix. Place the mix into a loaf tin and then top it off with more walnuts.

I was really happy with how this turned out as it was only my second time baking one!

Snapchat-771942879[1]P1020859

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now for the Spanish omelette, also known as Spanish Tortilla, she’s a feisty one so drum roll please!…

P1020903

I absolutely love omelettes! My mum makes great omelettes all the time so I learnt from her. However, I had never made a Spanish omelette until I was in my second year of uni. I started cooking a lot more as I became more comfortable in the kitchen and realised cooking a good meal did not necessarily take hours.  I was able to show others exactly this through writing for the uni magazine in ‘food and drink’. Of course my first article had to be about Spanish omelette!  Why? Because it’s simple, filling and so versatile.

A traditional Spanish omelette consists of just three ingredients, onion, potatoes and egg. While this sounds really plain the caramelised onions and potatoes give the omelette a really nice, sweet flavour. As Spanish omelettes usually contain around 5-6 eggs they are also much more thicker, making them more filling than your usual omelette.

This dish gives you so much freedom, you can add whatever you like, I added mushrooms and cheese but here are some more ideas for fillings:

  • Ham and Spinach
  • Peppers
  • Tomatoes
  • Bacon
  • Peas
  • Pancetta
  • Chorizo

A nice salad accompanies this dish perfectly or it can be served as a starter.

p1020905-e1498151574609.jpg

You may be thinking “omelette for dinner?” but trust me this dish will certainly fill you up.

If you fancy having a go, you can find the recipe I followed here : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JceGMNG7rpU.

My favourite part of cooking a Spanish omelette is flipping it! To do this without breaking the omelette you need to place a large plate on top of the pan. Place one hand on top of the plate and use the other to hold the pan’s handle. Turn over the pan so the omelette slides onto the plate and then slide it back into the pan.

So next time you’re stuck for gift ideas consider putting your apron on, whipping up one of your dad’s favourite dishes and getting the whole family together! Happy days!

I hope this post gave you some food for thought, I’ll be back soon with a special post!

(Pictures taken by me)

Mon X

Leave a Reply

