A Pleasant Surprise… Hunter’s Chicken

Chicken, bacon, cheese and barbecue sauce… Four very yummy things combined, what’s not to like? Just by using these four ingredients  you’ve got yourself a basis for a simple yet wholesome meal.

Hunter’s Chicken is a true pub classic. I’ve had this in a few pubs around the country and my Mum is a huge fan too. I think it’s definitely comfort food at its best. Little did I know this is actually very simple to make and is surprisingly cheap.

Now don’t ask me why but I voluntarily cooked my family a three course meal last Sunday. I promise I have not completely lost the plot! My love for cooking has grown over the summer, so far I’ve cooked the odd dish here and there and have had a go at baking. However I have never done a full meal and loved the idea of the challenge. My main was of course Hunter’s Chicken.

You may find it hard to believe but I actually really enjoyed it. One of the best parts was seeing my family eat my food and enjoy it. It was very rewarding. I was most surprised by the simplicity of this dish and my family were by my ambitious offer.

No one likes being rushed so I gave myself plenty of time and ensured everything was prepared. I know I still have a lot to learn but being able to recreate the food my family and I love is a great feeling. I hope to try and cook more of my favourite dishes and to keep on improving.

Hunter’s Chicken for One

  •  1 Chicken Breast
  • A handful of grated cheddar cheese
  • Sticky barbecue sauce
  • 1 rasher of bacon
  1. Wrap the chicken breast in bacon ensuring the bacon does not overlap. Put in the oven for 25 minutes at 180°C,356°F
  2. Take the chicken out of the oven and make a small cut into the chicken to check it’s cooked
  3. Squirt sticky barbecue sauce over the top of the breast and use a knife to spread the sauce over the chicken
  4. Sprinkle the grated cheese over the top and cook in the oven for a further 5 minutes.  Keep a close eye on the chicken as you really don’t want to end up with dry chicken!

I served this with homemade creamy mash potato, peas and green beans but it’s also great with chips, carrots or asparagus.

P1020059
My attempt at making Hunter’s Chicken look fancy

I hope you enjoyed this post. If you give this recipe a go let me know how you got on!

 

Mon  X

 

4 thoughts on “A Pleasant Surprise… Hunter’s Chicken

Leave a comment